This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Science   Tags: biology, environment, environmental  

Last Updated: Jan 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ung.edu/BIOL1260 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Phone
Cumming: 470-239-3120
Dahlonega: 706-864-1520
Gainesville: 678-717-3653
Oconee: 706-310-6238

Text
706-622-4525

Email
askus@ung.edu

 

Databases

GALILEO is the name of UNG's collection of databases.   These databases contain full-text journal articles, newspapers, reference materials, and other items for your research papers and projects.  Below are links to specific databases you might find useful for this course.  You will need the GALILEO password to access these from home and some may require you to enter your 900# and last name. Click the link passwords on the left sidebar for details.

Environment Complete  

 First place you should search!

GreenFILE

Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Science and Technology Collection

Contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, an

Nature

Includes peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology. Also contains archives, podcasts and videos.

ScienceDirect

Proves full-text to a wide range of peer-reviewed articles as well as book chapters.

National Science Digital Library

NSDL was established by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as an online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research. Use the “Educational Level” limit for audience appropriate materials.

 AccessScience@McGraw-Hill: The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology  

The web version of McGraw-Hill's authoritative, print multi-volume counterpart.

Environmental Impact Statements

This database summarizes the key issues in environmental impact statements.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Contains many types of publications including: newspapers, legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, transcripts, wire service reports and government publications.

JSTOR  

JSTOR offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. (Topics include: Aquatic, Plant & Biological Sciences, Ecology & Geography)

Films on Demand

Database of video documentaries and newsreels - you can link to specific segments (clips) to your presentation.

 

      
     

    Article Types

    Periodicals

    Due to the fact that books require such an immense devotion of writing and research, many authors and people working in fields that require faster publication of information rely primarily on periodicals or articles as an information medium. Faster publication not only allows authors to stay on top of the current research but offers students and researchers access to the most current information in a field. Beyond that, defining what kind of article you are looking at has a lot to with the intended audience, which will review here.

    Magazine Articles
    Articles in general interest magazine such as Newsweek, Spin, or People are geared toward a wide audience. In fact you can find them most anywhere – libraries, grocery stores, book stores, convenience stores, etc. The headlines and large type are meant to grab the attention of an everyday shopper or reader. Most magazines try and appeal to a broad audience and the editor, who controls the published content, selects articles partially based on their overall "fit" with the subject or theme of the magazine. Having an editor control a large part of the publishing content decisions is what sets magazines apart from other periodicals.

    Journal Articles
    On the other hand, getting an article published in an academic journal is a little more involved. First of all, most authors must submit their work to a peer-review process. Peer-review is exactly what it sounds like: a bunch of your peers (experts in the field) look over your work and judge its contribution to the subject area and quality of writing. It is then judged against other submissions and if it is deemed worthy then the article is accepted for publication. So instead of the article being judged by one individual such as an editor it is judged by a group of peers that are familiar with the subject. Journal articles are also different than magazines due to the fact that the academic journals they are printed aren't as widely available. Beyond libraries, most academic journals aren't readily available to everyday readers like magazines.

    Trade Publications
    Trade publications fall in between general interest magazines and academic journals. They are written to a particular industry or trade and are often published by professional associations. Articles are written by practitioners or subject experts however they do not go through the rigorous peer review process that academic journals experience. In electronic databases this type of publication can sorted with magazines because of the lack of peer-review.

    Comparison Chart

    Criteria

    Magazine

    Journal

    Trade Publication

    Audience

    General

    Researchers & Professionals

    Members of a specific industry, organization or trade

    Content

    News, general interest, personalities

    Research projects, methodologies, theory

    industry trends, new products or techniques,
    organizational news

    Accountability

    editor(s), no bibliographies

    peer reviewed/refereed, bibliographies

    editor(s), may or may not have short bibliographies

    Author

    staff writers (journalists)

    contributing writers (researchers)

    staff and/or contributing writers

    Typical Appearance

    glossy, color photos & illustrations, lots of advertisements

    plain paper, black and white illustrations, little to no advertisement

    cover industry related, glossy paper, color photos & illustrations, some advertisements usually related to industry

     

    Search Tips

    • Plan your search before you begin; think of keywords that will help you search.
    • Pay attention to the dates of articles if you have research that needs a current topic.
    • Limit your search as much as you can.  Read the options on the page! 
    • Make sure you notice suggestions provided; sometimes the search terms the database gives you will yield more results.
    • Check your spelling if you get no matches.
    • If you find an article that is helpful to your research, look at the SUBJECTS that are given for that article.  You can click those and the computer will search again using those terms.  This helps you find similar articles.
     

    Ask A Librarian

    Phone
    Cumming: 470-239-3120
    Dahlonega: 706-864-1520
    Gainesville: 678-717-3653
    Oconee: 706-310-6238

    Text
    706-622-4525

    Email
    askus@ung.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip