This is the "About the library" page of the "University of North Georgia - Cumming" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University of North Georgia - Cumming  

300 Aquatic Circle, Cumming, GA, 30040.
Last Updated: Mar 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ung.edu/GA400 Print Guide RSS Updates

About the library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Features:

Photo of Learning Commons seating.

20 laptops for checkout
10 iPads
Fax/Scanner/Copier
Textbook reserves for some classes
Citation Manuals, Dictionary, and Thesaurus
2 SMART Boards
Magazines and Newspapers
Graphing, scientific, & regular calculators for checkout
Computer Lab with 16 PCs
Cafe seating
Wi-fi
White boards, markers, erasers
Private study room (seats 6, Smart Board, large white board)
Printers, B&W and color
3-Hole punch, pencil sharpener, staplers
Cameras with mini tri-pods
View of Sawnee Mountain

 

 

Map to Campus

T

The library is located on the second floor.
View Larger Map

 

Library Resources Overview

Students at the Cumming campus seek out the library as an ideal environment outside of the classroom where they can study, relax, and consult with a librarian. UNG libraries encourage and foster student academic success by providing diverse collections, services, and instruction.

The librarian at Cumming provides information services such as class instruction and drop-in workshops on topics such as research techniques, MLA and APA citations, and library applications. Reference assistance and research consultations are available with a librarian at the Cumming campus library. Scheduling a research consultation ensures a devoted block of time for your information need. Electronic reference service is also available via instant message on the Libraries' website.

UNG Libraries’ growing collection holds over 519,000 print and electronic book titles. Students have access to 340+ academic databases containing 114,997 full-text electronic journals, 178,000 electronic books, and over 19,000 streaming videos. These electronic resources are available 24/7, on or off campus with authentication. Technology equipment such as iPads, laptops, cameras, and recording devices for audio and video are available for checkout.

Additionally, UNG students may request print books from University System of Georgia (USG) university and college libraries statewide. Locating and requesting titles from the other USG institutions such as UGA and Georgia Tech is accomplished using GIL Universal, a shared online catalog. Materials requested from all over the state are delivered to the UNG libraries five days a week. Books may also be requested from other locations using Interlibrary Loan. Librarians are always happy to teach students strategies for locating and requesting resources.

Students find the library can be a quiet haven, or a place for group study, research, library materials, or surfing the Web. Events are hosted across all four campus libraries such as Dog Therapy, Banned Books Week, and Open House throughout the semester.

 

Learning Commons Hours

The Learning Commons at UNG-Cumming is open whenever the building opens

Tutor's hours will vary from semester to semester.  Call (470) 239-3119 for their current schedule.

 

 

Meet with the librarian!

Need help? Librarian Rebecca Rose is happy to help with questions, big and small!

Drop by or schedule a research consultation.
Call: 470-239-3120 OR
Email: rebecca.rose@ung.edu

 

FAQs

Where are the books?

Our library has over 178,000 electronic books! There is also a small collection of popular print books. Books can be requested from any USG library at no cost.  Allow time for delivery.

Do you have print copies of anything?

We have current newspapers and popular magazines for casual reading.  We also have writing support books, such as citation manuals, a dictionary, and a thesaurus. Textbooks are on reserve for a few classes.

What are the hours of the Learning Commons?

The University of North Georgia - Cumming Learning Commons is unique in that whenever the campus building is open, you may use the library space.

What is the librarian's schedule?

The librarian's schedule is flexible and can vary from week to week.  You are welcome to contact her for more information!

Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca Rose

 

Text 706-622-4525 askus@northgeorgia.edu

Contact Info
(470) 239-3120 - Cumming
(706) 864-1520 - Dahlonega
(678) 717-3466 - Gainesville
(706) 310-6238 - Oconee
Send Email
 

Other UNG Campus Libraries

John Harrison Hosch Library - Gainesville Campus 

Library Technology Center - Dahlonega Campus

Oconee Library - Oconee Campus

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip