Last Updated: Apr 24, 2017
Some rights reserved by nsikander28
Look for art and images from your country. Browse using the Geography feature. High res images require you create an account before downloading. Available through GALILEO.
A social networking site where you can get thousands of copyright free images. Use the advanced search feature to limit results to Creative Commons images only.
- Country Comparisons
Maps, flags, statistics, events and multimedia on all five countries.
- Films on Demand
Has video clips for Botswana, Solomon Islands, Ghana, India, Laos, and Saudi Arabia.
- Discover GALILEO
Use the 'Pictures and Videos' link located in the blue bar at the top of the screen.
This list offers excellent databases to begin your research.
- Academic Search Complete
Find articles written about your country of study. Use the advanced search with one of the terms being the name of the country.
- CIA World Factbook
Wonderful resource covering every country in the world. Find information on topics such as people and society, geography, energy, transnational issues and more.
Search by typing in the name of the country and a term like "culture" or "dress."
- Travel Information
A government website that gives travel information and alerts for international travelers.
- ProQuest Databases
Includes collections of journal articles with a regional focus internationally.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Has articles on issues that might relate directly to the country you are studying.
- Sage Journals Online
An excellent source of global articles on cultural studies, history, business, economics, education, sociology, geography and anthropology, family, ethnic studies.
Newspapers are rich with local information on up-to-the minute arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Features such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor also give local or regional cultural clues.
Finding specific material from databases can be tricky. Ask the librarian for search strategies!
- LexisNexis Academic
This database contains thousands of full text newspapers from all over the world. You can search for a specific newspaper or for newspapers for a particular region or country using the Source Locater.
- Lexis Nexis YouTube Tutorials
Tutorials include Finding News by State or Geographical Region.
- Newspaper Source
While this database does not have as many newspapers as Lexis Nexis, it also has transcripts from full-text television & radio news transcripts, such as CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and more.
- International Newspapers
This database includes access to full-text newspapers from the all over the world. Look for how perspectives on a topic may differ depending on the part of the world where the paper is published.