This is the "Books" page of the "Film History and Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film History and Criticism  

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ung.edu/content.php?pid=517694 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Interlibrary Loan

Request articles not available through the library databases or subscriptions, and books not available at UNG or through GIL Express.

An ILL shortcut is available through most databases. When the full-text is unavailable using Find It, see the Interlilbrary Loan option at the bottom of the Find It screen. 

 

Citing Sources

Use this Research and Citation guide from
OR
 
You can also organize and create bibliographies with our library tool - Zotero.
 
Need more help?
 

Searching the Library Catalog

Some helpful search terms when using the library catalog:

  • Motion picture
  • Motion picture aesthetics
  • Cinematography
  • Film genre

Books on movies, TV and radio can generally be found in the PN1990's.  Below is a sampling of titles you can find in our Circulating and Reference Collection:

  • The Oxford History of World Cinema -- REF PN1993.5.A1 O96 1997
  • Past Imperfect:  History According to the Movies -- REF PN 1995.9 .H5 P37
  • Encyclopedia of Novels into Film -- REF PN 1997.85 .T5
  • History of the American Cinema (10 vols) -- PN1993.5.U6 H55 1994

Books on the design, editing, and/or aesthetics of film can generally be found in the TR850’s.  Below is a sampling of titles you can find in the Circulating Collection:

  • Grammar of the shot -- TR850 .T377 2009
  • Cinematography: Theory and Practice -- TR850 .B7598 2002
  • Setting up your Shots -- TR850 .V56 2009
 

Books & More @ UNG (the Library Catalog)

 

eBooks

Here are a few of the eBook titles about Film available at UNG Libraries.  Please use the catalog search above to look for more.





Cover Art
A Dictionary of Media and Communication - Daniel Chandler; Rod Munday
ISBN: 9780199568758

 

Reference Titles

Here are a few of the Reference titles about Film available at UNG Libraries.  Please use the catalog search above to look for more.

 

Circulating Titles

Here are a few of the Circulating titles about Film available at UNG Libraries.  Please use the catalog search above to look for more.

Questions? Please contact:

Profile Image
Emily Thornton
Contact Info
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sean Boyle
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip