This is the "Articles & Databases" page of the "Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing   Tags: nursing, research_guide  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ung.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Phone
Cumming: 470-239-3120
Dahlonega: 706-864-1520
Gainesville: 678-717-3653
Oconee: 706-310-6238

Text
706-622-4525

Email
askus@ung.edu

 

Nursing Databases

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  Icon
    This comprehensive research database provides over 700 full text journals and indexing to over 5000 more in the areas of nursing and allied health. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source  Icon
    Offers broad nursing coverage consisting of leading full-text journals alongside a wealth of non-periodical content such as cultural competency resources, dissertations, and procedural videos.
  • Cochrane Library  Icon
    The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making:
    Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
    Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
    Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
    Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
    Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
    NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
  • MEDLINE with Full Text (at EBSCOhost)  Icon
    MEDLINE with Full Text combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
  • Journals @ Ovid Nursing Collection  Icon
    This collection provides full-text access to a select group of highly respected medical and nursing journals
  • Lexicomp  Icon
    A current, clinically-relevant database of pharmacology and clinical information.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon
    This database provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
 

Article Types

Periodicals

Due to the fact that books require such an immense devotion of writing and research, many authors and people working in fields that require faster publication of information rely primarily on periodicals or articles as an information medium. Faster publication not only allows authors to stay on top of the current research but offers students and researchers access to the most current information in a field. Beyond that, defining what kind of article you are looking at has a lot to with the intended audience, which will review here.

Magazine Articles
Articles in general interest magazine such as Newsweek, Spin, or People are geared toward a wide audience. In fact you can find them most anywhere – libraries, grocery stores, book stores, convenience stores, etc. The headlines and large type are meant to grab the attention of an everyday shopper or reader. Most magazines try and appeal to a broad audience and the editor, who controls the published content, selects articles partially based on their overall "fit" with the subject or theme of the magazine. Having an editor control a large part of the publishing content decisions is what sets magazines apart from other periodicals.

Journal Articles
On the other hand, getting an article published in an academic journal is a little more involved. First of all, most authors must submit their work to a peer-review process. Peer-review is exactly what it sounds like: a bunch of your peers (experts in the field) look over your work and judge its contribution to the subject area and quality of writing. It is then judged against other submissions and if it is deemed worthy then the article is accepted for publication. So instead of the article being judged by one individual such as an editor it is judged by a group of peers that are familiar with the subject. Journal articles are also different than magazines due to the fact that the academic journals they are printed aren't as widely available. Beyond libraries, most academic journals aren't readily available to everyday readers like magazines.

Trade Publications
Trade publications fall in between general interest magazines and academic journals. They are written to a particular industry or trade and are often published by professional associations. Articles are written by practitioners or subject experts however they do not go through the rigorous peer review process that academic journals experience. In electronic databases this type of publication can sorted with magazines because of the lack of peer-review.

Comparison Chart

Criteria

Magazine

Journal

Trade Publication

Audience

General

Researchers & Professionals

Members of a specific industry, organization or trade

Content

News, general interest, personalities

Research projects, methodologies, theory

industry trends, new products or techniques,
organizational news

Accountability

editor(s), no bibliographies

peer reviewed/refereed, bibliographies

editor(s), may or may not have short bibliographies

Author

staff writers (journalists)

contributing writers (researchers)

staff and/or contributing writers

Typical Appearance

glossy, color photos & illustrations, lots of advertisements

plain paper, black and white illustrations, little to no advertisement

cover industry related, glossy paper, color photos & illustrations, some advertisements usually related to industry

 

Ask A Librarian

Phone
Cumming: 470-239-3120
Dahlonega: 706-864-1520
Gainesville: 678-717-3653
Oconee: 706-310-6238

Text
706-622-4525

Email
askus@ung.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip